Flowers
The horticultural tradition
Canton Geneva has a long history of horticulture, with plant nurseries at Cornavin and Petit-Saconnex going back to the 18th century. However until 1828 – when a contest took place to profile and valorize plant cultivation – we have little knowledge of the ways in which earlier producers worked.
 
Fleurs

The first horticultural school in the Swiss-French part of Switzerland was created in 1887 by Edmond Vaucher on his property in Châtelaine. The school, which became the Centre de Lullier, later moved to Jussy on the Left Bank. The original site is now home to the rose garden in the Parc des Franchises.

The horticultural sector in Geneva has faced a number of challenges over recent years, such as the need to save energy, distribution logistics, and globalization. Despite this, the canton has remained particularly strong in the production of cut flowers such as tulips and peonies that offer one of the highest price/quality ratios on the world. Geneva is also known for its hothouse orchids and poinsettias.

 

 

All Flowers

Flowers

Flowers GRTA

Flowers

Fleurs
La tradition horticole
Le canton de Genève bénéficie d'une tradition horticole historique. En effet, l'existence de pépinières à Cornavin et au Petit-Saconnex remonte au XVIIIème siècle. Il faudra cependant attendre 1828, lors d'un concours destiné à valoriser et à faire connaître l'horticulture pour découvrir comment travaillaient les producteurs de l'époque.
Fleurs

Par la suite, Edmond Vaucher, alors horticulteur à Châtelaine, créera sur ses terres, la première école d'horticulture de Suisse romande. C'est ainsi qu'en 1887, l'établissement qui deviendra plus tard le Centre de Lullier est construit à l'emplacement de l'actuelle roseraie du parc des Franchises.

Ces dernières années l'horticulture a dû relever de nombreux défis tels que l'économie d'énergie, la logistique de distribution ou l'ouverture des marchés mondiaux. Malgré cela, la production de fleurs coupées a su répondre aux attentes d'une population exigeante et est l'une des meilleures productions au monde en termes de rapport qualité-prix. Parmi les différentes variétés de fleurs cultivées à Genève, on trouve les orchidées, les tulipes, les pivoines ou encore les étoiles de Noël.

 

 

Producteurs - Fleurs

Producteurs - Fleurs GRTA

Fleurs